This is the "Home" page of the "Kendall College Library - The Basics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Kendall College Library

Kendall College Library - The Basics  

This guide provides key information about accessing resources through the Kendall College Library.
Last Updated: Jul 23, 2013 URL: http://ferris.libguides.com/kcadstudentinfo Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Off Campus Access

As a KCAD student you have 24/7 access to many online resources including: Encore, Article Databases & MELCAT

When you attempt to use any of these resources from off campus you will be asked to login.

  • To use ENCORE & the Article Databases login with your MYFSU & Password

  • To use MELCAT login with your NAME, BARCODE & PIN

If you have any problems attempting to login, please contact the library during daytime hours.

 

When in Doubt, Cite it Out!

Citing your sources of information has a two-fold purpose:

  • You are giving the original author(s)/creator(s) proper credit
  • You are providing your readers/audience access to the information you used

Kendall College Library Citation & Formatting Resources

OWL - Purdue University Online Writing Lab

 

Library Circulation Policies

CLICK HERE to review the Kendall College Library Circulation Policies

 

Online Article Databases

Online Article Databases allow access the CONTENTS of magazines, journals & newspapers in the form of citations, abstracts and full-text.

FULL-TEXT allows you to read the full article online, email it,
download & save it, and/or print it.

Recommended Databases:

Multisubject:

General Onefile
Lexis-Nexis Academic
Wilson SelectPlus
Opposing Viewpoints in Context


Credo Reference - 3.4 million full-text entries from over 664 reference books

Biography in Context

JSTOR
Oxford Art Online

ARTSTOR
CAMIO

Stylesight

 

Encore - The Library Catalog

Search for materials physically located in the Kendall College Library including: Books, Magazine & Journal Titles, CDs, DVDs and Course Reserves.

ENCORE - Kendall Library Online Catalog

 

Using MeLCat

MELCAT provides access to over 48 million items from over 390 participating Michigan libraries.

  • Requests are patron initiated
  • Requested materials take 5-7 business days to arrive at Kendall College Library
  • MEL deliveries arrive at the Library late afternoons on M/W/F

MELCAT

Here is a link to a brief MELCAT video tutorial


Your KCAD Instruction Librarian

Profile Image
Elise J. Brown
Contact Info
KCAD Library / KCAD
17 Fountain Street NW
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
616-451-2787 ext. 1123
Send Email
 

Kendall College Library

Kendall College Library
Kendall College of Art and Design
17 Fountain Street NW
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
616-451-2787 ext 1121

Fall & Spring Semester Hours
M-Thur - 8:00AM - 9:30 PM
Fri - 8:00AM - 4:30 PM
Sun - 4:00 - 8:00 PM
Sat - Closed

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip