This is the "Home" page of the "Kendall College Library - Basics for Faculty " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Kendall College Library

Kendall College Library - Basics for Faculty  

Last Updated: Sep 10, 2013 URL: http://ferris.libguides.com/kcadfacultyinfo Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Off Campus Access

As a KCAD Faculty member you have 24/7 access, off-campus access to many online resources including: Encore, Article Databases & MELCAT

When you attempt to use any of these resources from off campus you will be asked to login.

  • To use ENCORE & the Article Databases login with your MYFSU & Password

  • To use MELCAT login with your NAME, BARCODE & PIN

If you have any problems attempting to login, please contact the library during daytime hours.

 

Kendall College Library

Kendall College Library
Kendall College of Art and Design
17 Fountain Street NW
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
616-451-2787 ext 1121

Fall & Spring Semester Hours
M-Thur - 8:00AM - 9:30 PM
Fri - 8:00AM - 4:30 PM
Sun - 4:00 - 8:00 PM
Sat - Closed

 

Course Reserves in the Library

To supplement your course(s) contents, faculty are invited to place additonal materials/items on reserve in the library.

*You may place both personal materials and KCAD Library materials on reserve.

*Please allow (3) business days for materials to be processed for use.

To place materials on reserve and for additonal information please contact

Elise Brown, Reference & Instruction Librarian:

email: elisebrown@ferris.edu

phone: 616-451-2787 ext. 1123 

Or

Diane Dustin, Technical Services & Access Librarian 

email: dianedustin@ferris.edu

phone: 616-451-2787 ext. 1126

 

Library Instruction Services

Faculty are invited to request library instruction for their classes through out the school semester.

We recommend instruction sessions be scheduled at the time an assignment, paper or project is assigned.

PLEASE NOTE:

If you would like to schedule an instruction session and for more information please contact:

Elise Brown, Reference & Instruction Librarian

email: elisebrown@ferris.edu 

phone: 616-451-2787 ext. 1123

*The instruction librarian will contact you to confirm and finalize the scheduled session.

*Instruction sessionsshould be requested at least (5) days in advance, allowing the librarian to prepare for the session.

 

 

Online Article Databases

Online Article Databases allow access the CONTENTS of magazines, journals & newspapers in the form of citations, abstracts and full-text.

FULL-TEXT allows you to read the full article online, email it,
download & save it, and/or print it.

Recommended Databases:

Multisubject:

General Onefile
Lexis-Nexis Academic
Wilson SelectPlus
Opposing Viewpoints in Context


Credo Reference - 3.4 million full-text entries from over 664 reference books

Biography in Context

JSTOR
Oxford Art Online

ARTSTOR
CAMIO

Stylesight

 

Encore - The Library Catalog

Search for materials physically located in the Kendall College Library including: Books, Magazine & Journal Titles, CDs, DVDs and Course Reserves.

ENCORE - Kendall Library Online Catalog

 

Using MeLCat

MELCAT provides access to over 48 million items from over 390 participating Michigan libraries.

  • Requests are patron initiated
  • Requested materials take 5-7 business days to arrive at Kendall College Library
  • MEL deliveries arrive at the Library late afternoons on M/W/F
  • MELCAT materials CANNOT be placed on Reserve.

MELCAT

Here is a link to a brief MELCAT video tutorial

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip