Skip to main content
Link to Ferris Homepage

Ferris Library for Information, Technology, and Education

Immigration: Home

Useful Websites

Media Resources

Cover Art
Democracy Now! April 27, 2010
Publication Date: 2010
Available as a DVD, this recording from the hour-long daily TV program features a discussion on the controversial Arizona immigration bill at the time that it was introduced.
Cover Art
Which way home
ISBN: 9781422910450
Publication Date: 2009
The HBO documentary follows a group of unaccompanied minors from Mexico who are as young as eight years old as they journey to the border in a struggle to gain entry into America. It is a provoking film on the harsh realities of immigration into America.

Books

Cover Art
Illegal : life and death in Arizona's immigration war zone - Terry Greene Sterling.
ISBN: 9781599218618
Publication Date: 2010
Journalist Terry Greene Sterling tells the stories of immigrants in Arizona and those who prosecute them through interviews and conversations. The book provides an excellent primary source on immigration issues and the US-Mexico border in Arizona.
 
 
 
 
 
Cover Art
Immigration in the United States - edited by William Dvorak.
ISBN:9780824210915
Publication Date: 2009
Part of an annual series on current topics, Immigration in the United States is a collection of articles and essays from major magazines and newspapers on important immigration issues, such as border security, assimilation, popular opinion of immigrants, and immigration politics.
 
 
 
 
 
Cover Art
People on the move : an atlas of migration - Russell King
ISBN: 9780520261242
Publication Date: 2010
The atlas contains a diverse amount of data on immigration around the world and throughout history. It includes maps of 20th century immigration into America and data in the form of maps, graphs, and charts on a variety of topics, including the number of deaths at the US-Mexico border, worldwide immigration policy, and worldwide student migration.
 
Cover Art
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America - edited by Jeffrey Lehman.
ISBN:9780787639860
Publication Date: 2000
The online encyclopedia describes settlement pattens and the history of most ethnic groups in the U.S., in addition to providing a large amount of information on all facets of their cultures.
 
 
 
 
 
Cover Art
Immigration and asylum : from 1900 to the present - Matthew J. Gibney and Randall Hansen, editors.
ISBN: 1576077969
Publication Date: 2005
A comprehensive resource that covers asylum laws around the world, migrant groups in diaspora, and immigration politics. Its third volume contains primary sources concerning immigration topics. Access the ebook version here.

Subject Guide

Chelsea Mitchell's picture
Chelsea Mitchell
Contact:
(231) 591-3093