Skip to main content
Link to Ferris Homepage

Ferris Library for Information, Technology, and Education

HIST 400 (Busch): Finding Primary Sources

New Databases

New Databases

FLITE now has permanent access to Global Commodities and Empire Online. Features, such as downloading documents, are now available.

Access from off-campus is through a log-in using your MyFSU username and password.

Empire Online

Global Commodities

HIST 400 - Busch

Finding Primary Sources

Use FLITE's subscription databases to find primary sources. For information on accessing databases from off-campus, click here.

American Periodicals
Browse or search American Periodicals for periodicals and journals published in the U.S. between 1740 and 1900, includng periodicals published during the Civil War. This database includes special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, and children's and women's magazines as well as other historically-significant periodicals.

The Gerritsen Collection: Women's History Online, 1543-1945
The Gerritsen Collection is an internationally renowned resource covering women's history. The Gerritsen database contains over 2 million full-text, digitized pages spanning books, periodicals, and pamphlets from 1543-1945.

Historical Newspapers
Historical Newspapers is a collection of eight databases, each covering an individual newspaper title, providing full-text access to the content of major U.S. newspapers (including articles, editorials, ads, and obituaries). Coverage begins with each paper's first issue and continues through recent years.

Chicago Defender 1910-1975
Chicago Tribune 1849-1990
Christian Science Monitor 1908-2000
Detroit Free Press 1831-1922
Los Angeles Times 1881-1990
New York Times 1851-2010
Wall Street Journal 1889-1996
Washington Post 1877-1997

Guide to Historical Newspapers

Michigana: Sources in U.S. History Online
This digital archive documents state history. Drawn from the Sabin collection and other Gale sources, the archive provides access to a wide variety of documents: personal narratives and memoirs, pamphlets and political speeches, sermons and songs, legal treatises and children's books.

Online Catalog
To look for primary source documents reprinted in books, try a Word Search in the Online Catalog, using your topic and the word "sources" as the search terms.

Image from MorgueFile: http://www.morguefile.com/

Contact

Paul Kammerdiner's picture
Paul Kammerdiner
Contact:
FLITE 331
Phone: 231-591-3037