Skip to main content
Link to Ferris Homepage

Ferris Library for Information, Technology, and Education

HIST 300 (Busch): Finding Articles: Primary Source Databases

Women's History

Women's History

Ferris Museum of Sexist Objects
This library research guide for the Ferris Museum of Sexist Objects includes many helpful links to materials relating to women's history.

The Gerritsen Collection: Women's History Online, 1543-1945
The Gerritsen Collection is an internationally renowned resource covering women's history. The Gerritsen database contains over 2 million full-text, digitized pages spanning books, periodicals, and pamphlets from 1543-1945.

Library of Congress: Women's History
This page is a gateway to the extensive primary source material relating to American women's history provided online by the Library of Congress.

HIST 300 - Busch

Finding Articles: Primary Source Databases

Use FLITE's subscription databases to find primary and secondary sources. For information on accessing databases from off-campus, click here.

American Periodicals
Browse or search American Periodicals for periodicals and journals published in the U.S. between 1740 and 1900, including periodicals published during the Civil War. This database includes special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, and children's and women's magazines as well as other historically-significant periodicals.

Empire Online
A collection of primary source documents, Empire Online covers the rise and fall of European empires from 1500 through the twentieth century.

The Gerritsen Collection: Women's History Online, 1543-1945
The Gerritsen Collection is an internationally renowned resource covering women's history. The Gerritsen database contains over 2 million full-text, digitized pages spanning books, periodicals, and pamphlets from 1543-1945.

Global Commodities
Through primary source documents, Global Commodities traces the history and impact on world history of such products as oil, cotton, and tobacco from 1500 to the present.

Historical Newspapers
Historical Newspapers is a collection of eight databases, each covering an individual newspaper title, providing full-text access to the content of major U.S. newspapers (including articles, editorials, ads, and obituaries). Coverage begins with each paper's first issue and continues through recent years.

Chicago Defender 1909-1975
Chicago Tribune 1849-1993
Christian Science Monitor 1908-2003
Detroit Free Press 1831-1999
Los Angeles Times 1881-1993
New York Times 1851-2013
Wall Street Journal 1889-1999
Washington Post 1877-2000

Guide to Historical Newspapers

images from MorgueFile. https://www.morguefile.com/

Contact

Paul Kammerdiner's picture
Paul Kammerdiner
Contact:
FLITE 331
Phone: 231-591-3037