This is the "Home" page of the "Resources for Grants" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Link to Ferris Homepage

Ferris Library for Information, Technology, and Education

Resources for Grants  

Last Updated: Nov 14, 2012 URL: http://ferris.libguides.com/grants Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books and E-Books at FLITE

The "how to" grants manual : successful grantseeking techniques for obtaining public and private grant - David G. Bauer
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2011
Contents:
pt. 1. Getting ready to seek grant support for your organization -- pt. 2. Public/government funding opportunities -- pt. 3. Private/foundation funding opportunities -- pt. 4. Private/corporate funding opportunities.

Philanthropy and fundraising in American higher education - Noah D. Drezner
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2011
From gifts of blankets, chickens, and candles to multimillion-dollar gifts and billion-dollar campaigns, voluntary support of American higher education has been part of the American ethos since the founding of the colonial colleges. Peter Dobkin Hall in 1992 noted that "no single force is more responsible for the emergence of the modern university in America than giving by individuals and foundations." Institutions are turning to private giving to meet budgetary demands. This book provides a review of the philanthropy and fundraising literature and addresses the impact of philanthropy on American higher education, the theoretical under-pinnings and motivations for voluntary support, and a comprehensive look at the mechanics of fundraising.

Cover Art
From Idea to Funded Project - Julia M. Jacobsen; Jan Fay Kress
Call Number: LB2336 .B43 2008
ISBN: 0275990877
Publication Date: 2007
Ideas are products of individual human minds. Some of the ideas that emerge in educational, cultural, health-related, community, service, and faith-based organizations are potentially as important to the institutions as their endowments. These ideas are the concern of this guidebook: how to encourage their articulation, how to muster the cooperation necessary to turn them into formal blueprints, and how to secure whatever support is needed to see them materialize as projects serving the interests of the originators and their institutions. Designed for grant seekers in the digital age, this book helps readers make sense of the various printed and Web-based resources that are available to improve the quality of proposals and find successful funding. The chapters cover origins and early development of an idea, drawing up a proposal, finding funding sources, submitting a proposal, evaluation of a project, grant administration, and basic resources.

Cover Art
The Only Grant-Writing Book You'll Ever Need - Ellen Karsh; Arlen Sue Fox
Call Number: HG177.5.U6 K37 2006
ISBN: 0786717548
Publication Date: 2006
This is the revised and expanded edition of the most sought-after guide for everyone seeking grants: nonprofits, state and local governments, universities, school administrators, teachers, artists, and those seeking funds for scholarly and cultural enterprises.

Searching for Grants

  • Foundation Directory Online
    The Foundation Directory contains information on more than 80,000 foundations, corporate giving programs, and grantmaking public charities. Also included are two separate sections holding information on 500,000 recently awarded grants and reproductions of the latest IRS 990 or 990-PF forms submitted by all of the public and private grantmaking foundations found in the directory.

    The Foundation Directory can only be accessed from within the library, and is limited to no more than 3 users at the same time.
  • Michigan Grant Makers
    One of many useful pages created by Jon Harrison at the Michigan State University Libraries.
  • State of Michigan Funding information
  • Michigan Community Foundations
 

Journals and Directories

The Chronicle of Philanthropy
Call Number: FSU Periodicals, 2nd FLoor

Michigan Foundation Directory
Call Number: HV98.M5 M53
The most recent edition is in the Reference Section on the First floor of FLITE. Older editions can be found in the Michigan Collection.

 

Research Help

Librarians are available to help answer research questions and provide other library assistance. You can find librarians at the Oval Information Desk located on the First Floor of FLITE, by phone at 231-591-3602, by email, or via chat. More information is available at FLITE help.

Make an appointment for a research consultation with a librarian - one-on-one personal library help for any course.

Oval Information Desk Sign

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip