LibGuides: Radiography Research Guide: Finding Articles

What is a Database

What is a database?? A database is "A collection of information organized in such a way that a computer program can quickly select desired pieces of data. You can think of a database as an electronic filing system" (University of Toledo Computer Science and Engineering Glossary, nd.).

So, if you want to find information on a certain topic, you can do a keyword search to find the related "files", or in this case, most likely articles.

You likely use databases all of the time, such as Google, or online shopping websites, but don't even realize that a database is what you're using.

The Databases by Major option is a quick route to find databases for your research!

Top Pick Databases

Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
This databases are huge and useful for finding information on almost any topic. Information is coming from journals, magazines, books, newspapers, videos, and podcasts. If an article is not automatically in full text, use the Ferris Full Text link to try to link out to full text.
Anatomy.TV This link opens in a new window
3D interactive models of human anatomy as well as media, x-rays, MRIs, animations, and live-action movies. Video clips can be downloaded for use in presentations.
CINAHL: Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This database, the Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health, draws information from more than 3000 journals. In order to link to the full text of articles, use the Ferris FullText link.
Health and Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from medical journals and health magazines as well as reference sources, streaming video, audio, and images on health-related issues. Also includes Spanish editions of notable content and a Spanish search filter.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
This is the largest biomedical database, made freely available by the National Library of Medicine. For full text: 1. Click on the Article title 2. Click on Ferris FullText.

Why Bother with Library Databases?

Everson, B. (2012). Why? [photo]. CC. Retrieved from http://www.flickr.com/photos/editor/6698208975/

1. Most of what you find on Google isn't scholarly.

2. When you do find something scholarly on Google, the site often asks you to pay for it.

3. You should never have to pay for content. That's what the library is for!