Health Care Systems Administration Research Guide: E-Books

Assisted Living Administration Management contains all the essentials for students new to the field, as well as nuanced information for professionals looking to fine-tune their skills. This comprehensive resource provides deeper insights to address the ever-changing world of the assisted living community, containing effective best practices and model programs in elder care. The authors provide the necessary tools and tips to maximize the overall health, safety, and comfort of residents.

Americans have always thought their healthcare system was the best in the world. But starting in the late 1990s, shocking reports emerged that showed this was far from the truth. Treatment-related deaths or “complications” were found to be the fifth leading cause of death for Americans, and hundreds of thousands of patients were being harmed by botched medical procedures. Spurred by the quality crisis, a group of visionary physicians led by Donald Berwick and Paul Batalden embarked on a study of industrial “quality improvement” techniques, daring to apply them to the practice of medicine despite resistance from the medical community. The Best Practice tells the story of this burgeoning movement, and of how the medical landscape is being radically transformed-for the better.  

Experts agree that we are entering the Golden Age of Medicine, when our everyday experience of being ill and getting better will be more like science fiction than today's routine trip to the doctor. Bill Hanson, director of the surgical intensive care unit at the University of Pennsylvania Medical Center and an inventor of medical technology, offers true-life and intensely intimate stories about the way biotechnology is changing people's lives. * An electronic nose that detects infection, such as pneumonia, based on a person's breath * Robots with appendages that can feel their way around tissue, which will augment the hands of surgeons in the operating room * Computer health wizards that will advise and prescribe through your home computer * Computerized psychotherapists dispensing advice about emotional problems * Telehealth software that serves as a monitoring nurse for difficult to manage chronic illnesses such as diabetes. * Wheelchairs operated by reading electrical brainwaves for patients with severe neurological deterioration. Bill Hanson describes the human genius that arrived at these amazing discoveries, and how innovators are working to take these feats to an even more technologically advanced level. And more importantly, he discusses what the human experience will be and how we can prepare ourselves for the moral and ethical challenges that these awesome changes will bring. This riveting and startling account will make us revise our expectations of our own mortality.

Single-user e-book.

Health Care Finance: Basic Tools for Nonfinancial Managers, Second Edition is a practical financial management text for those who need basic financial management knowledge and a better understanding of health care finance. Using actual examples from hospitals...

Health Care Information Systems is a primary text on the effective use of data and information technology to improve organizational performance in health care settings. This book provides the fundamental knowledge and tools that students need to manage information and information resources effectively within a variety of health care organizations. Students will gain insight into the origins and uses of health information and learn about a variety of health information systems in use today, with a focus on electronic medical record systems.

Health Care USA, Seventh Edition, offers students of health administration, medicine, public health, and related fields the most comprehensive overview of America’s health care system under a single cover. Combining historical perspective with analysis of modern trends, this expanded edition charts the evolution of modern American health care, providing a complete examination of its organization and delivery while offering critical insight into the issues that the U.S. health system faces today.From a physician-dominated system to one defined by managed care and increasingly sophisticated technology, this essential text explains the transformation underway and the professional, political, social, and economic forces that guide it today and will in the future.Exhaustive in breadth and balanced in perspective, Health Care USA, Seventh Edition, provides students with a clearly organized, straightforward illustration of the complex structures, relationships and processes of this rapidly growing, $2.5 trillion industry.The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised to reflect recent developments in this dynamic industry. The latest edition features:" A comprehensive overview of the complex and evolving U.S. health care system, plus revised data, material and analysis throughout." The latest benchmark developments in health care, including the response of public health to swine flu and the Obama administration’s health care reform." A look at the recent recession’s effects on hospital finances." New projections and data trends on the country’s health care spending." A forward-looking perspective on the future of the U.S. health care system.

An introductory computer literacy text for nurses and other healthcare students, Introduction to Computers for Healthcare Professionals explains hardware, popular software programs, operating systems, and computer assisted communication.

Designated a Doodys Core Title "This is an excellent tool for anyone preparing to take the national licensing exam or a current licensed administrator needing a good review." Score: 93, 4 Stars. --Doodys Medical Reviews This revised and updated study guide is based on the same format as the actual exam and provides an easy-to-use, effective way to review essential concepts and practice test-taking skills. This up-to-date guide reflects the latest changes in the domains of practice for nursing home administrators covering core information on nursing governance, business and finance, human resources, and resident and patient care nursing. New questions and answers are included in this study guide to reflect the revised sixth edition of "Nursing Home Administration" to cover new laws and regulations, federal guidelines to surveyors, quality indicators, resident assessment instrument, safety code inspection process, and new ICDM-10. With over 800 test questions, 1,000 key terms and concepts, and answer keys (some with full explanations) -- this is the essential resource for anyone looking to pass the licensing exam.

Through a unique interdisciplinary perspective on quality management in health care, this text covers the subjects of operations management, organizational behavior, and health services research. With a particular focus on Total Quality Management and Continuous Quality Improvement, the challenges of implementation and institutionalization are addressed using examples from a variety of health care organizations, including primary care clinics, hospital laboratories, public health departments, and academic health centers.New to the Fourth Edition:- All chapters have been updated to reflect recent trends in healthcare including the more global focus of CQI.- New introductory chapters summarize the evolution of CQI and discuss the factors influencing the application and diffusion of CQI.- Several new chapters cover 'hot' topics such as the role of the patient in CQI, social marketing as an approach to CQI, assessing risk and harm in patient care, CQI in public health organizations, quality improvement in nursing, and quality improvement in resource-poor countries.- A new companion volume of case studies

The facts are hard to ignore: rising rates of chronic disease, epidemic obesity and diabetes, a widening longevity gap between rich and poor, health care reforms at odds with patient interests. In response, Policy Innovations for Health argues that a nation s well-being mirrors the health of its citizens and calls not only for improvement in our health care systems but for a complete reconceptualization of health and social policy, starting with expanded, interrelated roles for health care providers, consumers, and policymakers. The long-term strategies outlined in this book emphasize a stronger balance between public and individual health goals, and collaborations between cost-efficient, streamlined medical care and innovative therapeutic research and technology values that have been traditionally been considered in conflict.

For nearly fifteen years Practical Decision Making in Health Care Ethics has offered scholars and students a highly accessible and teachable alternative to the dominant principle-based theories in the field. Devettere's approach is not based on an ethics of abstract obligations and duties, but, following Aristotle, on how to live a fulfilled and happy life -- in short, an ethics of personal well-being grounded in prudence, the virtue of ethical decision making. This third edition is revised and updated and includes discussions of several landmark cases, including the tragic stories of Terri Schiavo and Jesse Gelsinger (the first death caused by genetic research). Devettere addresses new topics such as partial-birth abortion law, embryonic stem cell research, infant euthanasia in The Netherlands, recent Vatican statements on feeding tubes, organ donation after cardiac death, new developments in artificial hearts, clinical trials developed by pharmaceutical companies to market new drugs, ghostwritten scientific articles published in major medical journals, and controversial HIV/AIDS research in Africa. This edition also includes a new chapter on the latest social and political issues in American health care. Devettere's engaging text relies on commonsense moral concepts and avoids academic jargon. It includes a glossary of legal, medical, and ethical terms; an index of cases; and thoroughly updated bibliographic essays at the end of each chapter that offer resources for further reading. It is a true classic, brilliantly conceived and executed, and is now even more valuable to undergraduates and graduate students, medical students, health care professionals, hospital ethics committees and institutional review boards, and general readers interested in philosophy, medicine, and the rapidly changing field of health care ethics.

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ferrisstate/detail.action?pq-origsite=primo&docID=6320749 An ideal introduction to management in this dynamic industry. Concise, yet complete, it begins with a look at recent changes in long-term care and health care reform, before examining the various long -term care providers and their interaction with competition, payment systems, quality, and ethical issues. It moves on to explore managing in the long-term care system looking at administration, leadership, culture change, technology and community relations, and concludes with a look at future trends and managing continuing change.

This new edition of The Strategic Application of Information Technology in Health Care Organizations offers a peerless guide for health care leaders to understand information technology (IT) strategic planning and implementation. Filled with illustrative case studies, the book explores the link between overall strategy and information technology strategy. It discusses organizational capabilities, such as change management, that have an impact on an organization's overall IT effectiveness, and a wide range of IT strategy issues. The book covers emerging trends such as personalized medicine; service-oriented architecture; the ramification of changes in care delivery models, and the IT strategies necessary to support public health...

This much-needed text offers an authoritative introduction to strategic marketing in health care and presents a wealth of ideas for gaining the competitive edge in the health care arena. Step by step the authors show how real companies build and implement effective strategies. It includes marketing approaches through a wide range of perspectives: hospitals, physician practices, social marketing, international health, managed care, pharmaceuticals, and biotechnology. With Strategic Marketing for Health Care Organizations, students and future administrators will have a guide to the most successful strategies and techniques, presented ready to apply by the most knowledgeable authors.

This book provides recommendations for assessing hospital safety practices as well as specific suggestions for behavioural interventions. It brings a systematic approach to healthcare safety, identifying common problems through illustrative case studies and offering solutions.It also offers several different perspectives including patient safety, doctor safety, and administrator safety.

To answer that question, authors Greg Butler and Chip Caldwell researched over 220 healthcare organizations to determine what differentiates high performers from organizations that fail to achieve lasting operational success. Their research revealed that success lies in the ability of leaders to organize the change process. This major finding is the foundation for the performance improvement model described in this book. This model combines four change management strategies used by high-performing organizations: Organizing for accountability Linking operating strategy to quality initiatives Creating an environment for change Deploying advanced quality methods such as Lean and Six Sigma Each of the four strategies is illustrated with specific examples and success stories. The book focuses on the crucial role leaders should play in the performance improvement process and provides proven methods for increasing the effectiveness of quality improvement methods.