LibGuides: Ferris State University History Guide: Researching Ferris State History

Archival Ferris Resources

The University Archives has many archival collections relating to Ferris State history. Most collections have finding aids that describe what types of materials are in the collection. A few are highlighted on this page.

Century of Opportunity
In preparation for Ferris State College's 1984 centennial celebrations, retired public relations employee Joseph Deupree wrote the centennial institutional history. The book was a mixture of legends and facts, with numerous illustrations. This collection contains drafts of chapters that both made it into the final print, other manuscript materials and graphics and layout patterns.
Catalog Records
In 1894, a decade after beginning the Big Rapids Industrial School, Woodbridge N. Ferris published the first separate catalog. The catalog provided basic information about the school, the curricula and programs available. It was produced annually until 1976 when it became a biannual publication. The catalog ceased to exist in print format in 2002.
Ferris Torch
The Ferris Torch is a weekly student newspaper publication. Content includes national, local, campus news and sports; reviews; Associated Press news and features and student columns. This collection contains all known issues of the publication between 1932 and the present.
Lillian Wright Historical News Clippings Collection
This collection contains annotated newspaper clippings on topics that Lillian Wright determined to be of significance to Ferris State University history.
Other Finding Aids

Looking Back in Time

1951 marching band photo at the football field used prior to Top Taggard field.

Books about Ferris History

Autobiography of Woodbridge N. Ferris
Call Number: F666.F47 A3 1995
Publication Date: 1995
This autobiography, published and edited in 1995, provides Woodbridge Ferris?s views on his life as written during his Senate career. Further chapters are written by his son Carleton Ferris

This section provides a bibliography of secondary resources about the life and activities of Woodbridge N. Ferris. All of these resources are available in the Ferris State University Archives and some in the main library

Century of Opportunity by Deupree, Joseph
Call Number: LD 1771.F477 D48 1982
Publication Date: 1982
This history was written as part of the centennial, providing an overview of school history. It was written by a former director of the College Public Relations Office.
Ferris Comes of Age : The Years of Transition, 1946-1963 by Nye, Rusell
Call Number: LD 1771 .F477 N93 1983
Publication Date: 1983
Written by a Ferris governing board member, this book details the acceptance of Ferris by the State of Michigan, the transformation from the private Ferris Institute to Ferris State College and related legislative activities.
History of Ferris State College by Junker, Elmer S.
Call Number: LD 1771 .F477 J86 1967
Publication Date: 1967
This booklet focuses on the first forty years of Ferris Institute. It contains a chronology and information about buildings.
The Ferris Six : Forced unionization and compulsory speech v. the United States Constitution by Junker, Elmer S.
Call Number: LD 1771 .F469 J86 1995
Publication Date: 1995
The refusal of some Ferris faculty members to join the union lead to a Supreme Court decision banning the use of mandatory union contributions for political campaigns.

Web Resources about Ferris History

This section provides links to some of the online resources available on Ferris history. Many of these resources are maintained externally. If a link is not working, please contact the University Archivist.

University History Task Force
The University History Task Force helps to promote the history of Ferris State University. This website has historical information and information about their activities.
Century of Opportunity
This is a digitized version of the history written by Joseph Deupree for the centennial celebrations in 1984. It provides a basic history of the university until 1980.
Autobiography of Woodbridge Ferris
This is a digitized version of the autobiography of Woodbridge Ferris. It was first published by the university in 1996.