LibGuides: HIST 230 (Mehler): Finding Secondary Sources

Secondary Sources

In the study of History, a secondary source is one that was created later by someone who did not experience first-hand or participate in the events or conditions you’re researching. Secondary sources in History are generally scholarly books and articles.

HIST 230 - Mehler

Finding Secondary Sources

Use FLITE's subscription databases to find secondary sources. To access FLITE databases from off-campus, login using your MyFSU username and password.

Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile is an important database for peer-reviewed, full-text journal articles from leading journals and reference sources. Thorough and extensive, topics include technology, medicine, and history.
Bridge Magazine
"Bridge’s mission is to inform Michigan citizens about their state, amplify their views and explore the challenges of our civic life."
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a multidisciplinary database which contains the full-text of articles from core journals in several academic disciplines, including history. Coverage is from each journal's first issue and continues through 2-5 years from the most recently published issues.

Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
A partnership of several non-profit publishers, Project Muse offers full-text articles from over 250 journals. Full-text coverage for each journal varies but usually starts in the mid- to late- 1990s. Journals in Muse encompass the social sciences, humanities, and the arts; specific fields covered by Muse include history.

<< Previous: Finding Primary Sources
Next: Finding Books >>