LibGuides: HIST 230 (Mehler): Finding Primary Sources

Primary Sources

In the study of History, a primary source is an artifact, a document, diary, manuscript, autobiography, a recording, or any other source of information that was created at the time under study.

HIST 230 - Mehler

Finding Primary Sources

Use FLITE's subscription databases to find primary sources. To access FLITE databases from off-campus, login using your MyFSU username and password.

Images from MorgueFile: http://www.morguefile.com/

Access World News This link opens in a new window
Access World News provides comprehensive newspaper coverage at the local, state, regional, national, and international level. 81 Michigan newspapers are included. Dates of coverage vary by newspaper but most begin in the 1990s or 2000s. Searching can be done by individual newspaper, state or country, and region.
American Periodicals (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Browse or search American Periodicals for periodicals and journals published in the U.S. between 1740 and 1900, includng periodicals published during the Civil War. This database includes special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, and children's and women's magazines as well as other historically-significant periodicals.
Global Commodities This link opens in a new window
Through primary source documents, Global Commodities traces the history and impact on world history of such products as oil, cotton, and timber from 1500 to the present.

Historical Newspapers
Historical Newspapers is a collection of eight databases, each covering an individual newspaper title, providing full-text access to the content of major U.S. newspapers (including articles, editorials, ads, and obituaries). Coverage begins with each paper's first issue and continues through recent years.

Chicago Defender: 1909-1975 (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
1909-1975
Chicago Tribune: 1849-1998 (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
1849-1993
Detroit Free Press: 1831-1999 (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
1831-1999
New York Times: 1851-2019 (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
1851-2013
Washington Post: 1877-2006 (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
1877-2000

Next: Finding Secondary Sources >>