Recommended Databases: Languages and Literature: Home
Recommended Databases: Languages and Literature
Artemis Literary Sources is a current and comprehensive resource for literary topics, authors, and their works. Its coverage includes overview essays on thousands of books and literary topics, full-text scholarly articles from more than 360 academic journals and literary magazines, review of books of all sorts, substantive biographic essays on more than 130,000 authors, and more. Also serves as a portal to the MLA International Bibliography.
Guide to using Artemis Literary Sources
JSTOR offers full-text articles from over 2,000 core journals in many academic disciplines including Languages and Literature. Coverage in JSTOR usually starts with each journal's first issue and ends 3-5 years before the most recently published issues.
Guide to using JSTOR
The OED correctly boasts that it "is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium." Using more than 2.5 millions quotations, the OED documents usage for words from across the English-speaking world. The online OED contains the complete text of the 20-volume 2nd edition as well as the three-volume Additions Series and the content of quarterly updates which have added thousands of revisions and new words not found in the original print version.
Browse or search American Periodicals for periodicals and journals published in the U.S. between 1740 and 1900, including periodicals published during the Civil War.
Essay and General Literature Index contains citations to essays and articles published in book collections, compilations, and anthologies. The database contains nearly 65,000 citations from 1985 to the present.
Languages and Literature are among the fields in the humanities covered in this database. Indexing for nearly 700 journals extends back to 1910 and full-text is available for articles from over 300 journals.
Project Muse offers full-text articles encompassing many academic disciplines including Languages and Literature. Full-text coverage for each journal varies but usually starts in the mid- to late- 1990s.