Skip to main content
Link to Ferris Homepage

Ferris Library for Information, Technology, and Education

HIST 400 (Huey): Finding Articles

HIST 400 (Huey)

rosie

Finding Articles

America: History and Life
Covering the period prehistory-present, America: History and Life contains citations from over 1,700 publications on all aspects of American History. Articles published since 1964 are included. Over 16,000 citations are added each year.

*Click here to access a guide on using America: History and Life.

American Periodicals Series: 1740-1900
This database offers digitized pages from over 1,100 periodical titles, including literary journals, published in the United States. A work-in-progress, American Periodical Series currently includes material through the early twentieth century.

The Gerritsen Collection: Women's History Online, 1543-1945
The Gerritsen Collection is an internationally renowned resource covering women’s history, formerly available only on microfilm. The Gerritsen database contains over 2 million full-text, digitized pages spanning books, periodicals, and pamphlets from 1543-1945.

*Click here to learn about using the Gerritsen Collection.

Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts is a companion database to America: History and Life, covering World History from 1450 to the present. Over 22,000 citations are added each year, with coverage going back to 1955.

*Click here to learn about using America: History and Life and Historical Abstracts.

Historical Newspapers

The set of eight historical newspaper databases contain every article published in each paper up to a point in the recent past.

Chicago Defender 1910-1975
Chicago Tribune 1849-1989
Christian Science Monitor 1908-1999
Detroit Free Press 1831-1922
Los Angeles Times 1881-1989
New York Times 1851-2009
Wall Street Journal 1889-1995
Washington Post 1877-1996

*Click here to access a guide on using Historical Newspapers.

JSTOR
JSTOR is a multidisciplinary database which contains the full-text of articles from core journals in several academic disciplines, including history. Coverage is from each journal's first issue and continues through 2-5 years from the most recently published issues.

*Click here to access a guide on using JSTOR.

Project MUSE
A partnership of several non-profit publishers, Project Muse offers full-text articles from over 250 journals. Full-text coverage for each journal varies but usually starts in the mid- to late- 1990s. Journals in Muse encompass the social sciences, humanities, and the arts; specific fields covered by Muse include history.

*Click here to access a guide on using Project Muse.

Contact

Paul Kammerdiner's picture
Paul Kammerdiner
Contact:
FLITE 331
Phone: 231-591-3037