Skip to main content
Link to Ferris Homepage

Ferris Library for Information, Technology, and Education

ENGL 325 (Garrelts): Home

ENGL 325 - Garrelts

ENGL 325 - Jablonski

Databases / Finding Articles

Use the subscription databases available from the library's Web site to find the sources for your Analytical Report.

For information on accessing databases from off-campus, click here.

General

Use these multi-subject databases for any topic:

Access World News
A product of NewsBank, Access World News contains the full-text of nearly 1700, mostly English-language, news sources from around the world, with coverage for most beginning in the 90s or 00s. All titles may be searched at once or specific regions, countries, or states may be searched separately by clicking on the map.

General OneFile
A very large full-text database with over 50 million articles covering a myriad of subjects, General OneFile indexes both newspapers and journals. Coverage is from 1980 to present. A few journals, especially older dates, give only selective full-text.

Wilson OmniFile
This completely full-text database includes articles from a wide range of subject fields including science, humanities, education and business. Coverage is from 1994 to the present.

Business

ABI/INFORM
One of the first electronic databases, ABI/INFORM has been a premier source of business and corporate information for more than 30 years. The database contains content from thousands of journals that help researchers track business conditions, trends, management techniques, corporate strategies, and industry-specific topics worldwide. Coverage for this database begins in 1971.

Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
The Business section in Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe contains Company Profiles and Industry Snapshots from Hoover as well as articles from such business sources as Business Week and Fortune.

Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
Net Advantage gives easy access to comprehensive data on companies, executives, industries, stocks, bonds and mutual funds--and solid investment advice from top analysts. The information contained in this database is provided by Standard & Poor’s the world’s most trusted provider of business, financial and investment information.

*Click here to access a guide on using Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage.

Wilson Business
A comprehensive indexing source for business literature, Wilson Business contains citations and very little full text. Use the Find It button to determine availability of articles.

For information on accessing databases from off-campus, click here.

Education

Education Abstracts
Education Abstracts indexes over 550 journal titles which focus on education. Coverage extends from pre-school through higher education.

Educator's Reference Complete
This mostly full-text database, covers more than 1100 journals significant to the field of education. All educational levels and specialties are included. Use Advanced Search if the default Subject Guide Search is not yielding relevant results.

ERIC
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) indexes and abstracts 780 journals (EJ Accession Number) and ERIC documents (ED Accession Number) covering education and related fields such as counseling, psychology, and social sciences from 1966-present. Most ERIC documents are available on microfiche in the library. Full-text for many recent ERIC Documents is available through the database (click on the "Access ERIC" full-text link).

Health Sciences

CINAHL
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) provides comprehensive indexing of the professional literature in nursing, allied health disciplines, biomedicine, and alternative medicine from 1982 to present. Selective full-text is available for research instruments, state nursing journal articles, and critical paths.

*Click here to access a guide on using CINAHL.

Health Reference Center
This database provides access to a wide range of articles on health matters such as Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, HMOs, Prescription Drugs, etc. Full-text is available for many articles. Use Advanced Search if the default Subject Guide Search is not yielding relevant results.

PubMed
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, includes over 15 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.

*Click here to access a guide on using PubMed.

Visionet
Visionet is a database of journal citations produced by the Southern College of Optometry. It is the only existing comprehensive index of optometric literature in the world. It also includes vision science articles from general medical journals and ophthamology journals.

*Click here to access a guide on using Visionet.

Journal Locations

Current Periodicals - Second Floor
Bound Periodicals - Second Floor
Microforms (microfilm and microfiche) - Second Floor

If FLITE does not own the article in any format, use InterLibrary Loan.

Citing Sources / Zotero

Whenever you are quoting or using information from a source, you must credit or cite that source. Failure to do so is plagiarism which can lead to expulsion from the University. APA and MLA are two formats for citation. The following links provide information on how to use either APA or MLA.

Citation Style Guide: APA (PDF)
An online version of an APA Quick Reference handout which provides the citation style for several basic types of sources, requires Adoboe Acrobat Reader.

APA List of References
More examples of how cite different types of sources using the APA format.

Citation Style Guide: MLA (PDF)
An online version of FLITE's MLA Quick Reference handout, requires Adoboe Acrobat Reader.

Zotero is a citation management resource. You can create an account and format your citations using this tool.

Zotero Homepage

Zotero Tutorials


Contact: Paul Kammerdiner / Email / Phone: 231-591-3037 / Office: FLITE 331

Don't forget, you are welcome to come to the Oval Information Desk and ask for help any time. You can also call us 231-591-3602 or chat with us.

Last update: November 4, 2013