Skip to main content
Link to Ferris Homepage

Ferris Library for Information, Technology, and Education

ENGL 311 (Cosper): Home

ENGL 311 - Cosper

ENGL 311 - Cosper

Proposal Writing

A Practical Guide for Writing Proposals

Key Components of a Proposal

Databases / Finding Articles

Use the subscription databases available from the library's Web site to find the sources for research in your subject area.

For information on accessing databases from off-campus, click here.

Architecture

Academic OneFile
Academic OneFile is an important database for peer-reviewed, full-text journal articles from leading journals and reference sources. Thorough and extensive, topics include technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and other subjects from over 14,000 journals, 9,000 of which are peer-reviewed.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals indexes articles from over 700 American international journals and popular periodicals. Includes references to over 13,000 obituaries. Comprehensive coverage begins in 1934 with selective coverage back to 1741 on topics including archaeology, architecture, city planning, furniture and decoration, preservation, and landscape architecture.

Automotive

Academic OneFile
Academic OneFile is an important database for peer-reviewed, full-text journal articles from leading journals and reference sources. Thorough and extensive, topics include technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and other subjects from over 14,000 journals, 9,000 of which are peer-reviewed.

Alldata Pro (Does not work with Chrome or Safari)
AllData Pro is the world’s most comprehensive resource for automotive diagnostic and repair information and services for the automotive service industry. Includes manufacturer TSBs and recalls updated daily, OEM wiring diagrams, maintenance tables, and automatic repair information updates. Coverage is for 1982 models to the present. Please note that Alldata can only be accessed from the automotive building and from FLITE.

Computer Network Systems

Applied Science and Technology Abstracts
Applied Science and Technology Abstracts provides abstracts for articles from 757 journal titles, and broadly covers science and technology. Full text is available for many of the articles.

Computer Database
"Use this database to find computer-related product introductions, news, and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications, and the application of technology" from the most well-read and influential periodicals in the industry. Coverage is from 1980 to the present and citations come from over 800 journals and periodicals.

Construction

Academic OneFile
Academic OneFile is an important database for peer-reviewed, full-text journal articles from leading journals and reference sources. Thorough and extensive, topics include technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and other subjects from over 14,000 journals, 9,000 of which are peer-reviewed.

Applied Science and Technology Abstracts
Applied Science and Technology Abstracts provides abstracts for articles from 757 journal titles, and broadly covers science and technology. Full text is available for many of the articles.

TechStreet
Techstreet is where you can find FLITE's subscriptions to the International Building Codes and to the ASHRAE Standards and Handbooks collection.

Graphics Media Management

ABI/INFORM
One of the first electronic databases, ABI/INFORM has been a premier source of business and corporate information for more than 30 years. The database contains content from thousands of journals that help researchers track business conditions, trends, management techniques, corporate strategies, and industry-specific topics worldwide. Coverage for this database begins in 1971.

Academic OneFile
Academic OneFile is an important database for peer-reviewed, full-text journal articles from leading journals and reference sources. Thorough and extensive, topics include technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and other subjects from over 14,000 journals, 9,000 of which are peer-reviewed.

Health Care Systems Administration

ABI/INFORM
One of the first electronic databases, ABI/INFORM has been a premier source of business and corporate information for more than 30 years. The database contains content from thousands of journals that help researchers track business conditions, trends, management techniques, corporate strategies, and industry-specific topics worldwide. Coverage for this database begins in 1971.

Health Reference Center Academic
This database provides access to over eight million articles from nursing and allied health journals on a wide-range of topics from medicine, diseases and public health, occupational health and safety, alchohol and drug abuse, HMOs, prescription drugs, and nutrition. Full-text is available for many articles. Coverage is from 1980 to the present.

PubMed
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, includes over 19 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.

Heavy Equipment

Applied Science and Technology Abstracts
Applied Science and Technology Abstracts provides abstracts for articles from 757 journal titles, and broadly covers science and technology. Full text is available for many of the articles.

DieselNet
DieselNet, the only information service exclusively devoted to engines and emissions, is the internet forum for the exchange of technical and business information on engines, emissions, emission control, and all related issues which, hopefully, will contribute to the development of the clean diesel engine of the future.

Other Technology Programs

Applied Science and Technology Abstracts
Applied Science and Technology Abstracts provides abstracts for articles from 757 journal titles, and broadly covers science and technology. Full text is available for many of the articles.

General OneFile
A very large full-text database with over 50 million articles covering a myriad of subjects, General OneFile indexes both newspapers and journals. Coverage is from 1980 to present. A few journals, especially older dates, give only selective full-text.

Wilson OmniFile
This completely full-text database includes articles from a wide range of subject fields including science, humanities, education and business. Coverage is from 1994 to the present.

Sciences

American Chemical Society Journals
This Database provides searching for and viewing of full-image articles in professional journals published by the American Chemical Society. Individual journals or groups of journals can be searched by author, title, and or keyword. Journals from all subdivisions of chemistry are available.

Biological and Agricultural Index
Biological and Agricultural Index provides access to core literature in biology and agriculture and related fields from over 375 periodicals as well as conference proceedings and technical reports.

ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect is an online collection of citations, with selected full-text, from scholarly, scientific and technical journals, updated monthly, covering such topics as Biology, Chemistry, Mathematics, Anthropology, Archaeology, Physics, Psychology, and Business. Content is 1995-present and may be searched by subject or by journal title.

Citing Sources / Zotero

Whenever you are quoting or using information from a source, you must credit or cite that source. Failure to do so is plagiarism which can lead to expulsion from the University.

Citation Style Guide: APA (PDF)
An online version of an APA Quick Reference handout which provides the citation style for several basic types of sources, requires Adoboe Acrobat Reader.

Zotero is a citation management resource. You can create an account and format your citations using this tool.

Zotero Homepage

Zotero Tutorials


Contact: Paul Kammerdiner / Email / Phone: 231-591-3037 / Office: FLITE 331

Don't forget, you are welcome to come to the Oval Information Desk and ask for help any time. You can also call us 231-591-3602 or chat with us.

Last update: January 8, 2014