Skip to main content
Link to Ferris Homepage

Ferris Library for Information, Technology, and Education

ENGL 211 (Cosper): Home

ENGL 211 - Cosper

ENGL 211 - Cosper

How to Write Summaries of Articles

Writing Article Summaries

Databases / Finding Articles

Use the subscription databases available from the library's Web site to find the sources for research in your subject area.

For information on accessing databases from off-campus, click here.

Construction

General OneFile
A very large full-text database with over 50 million articles covering a myriad of subjects, General OneFile indexes both newspapers and journals. Coverage is from 1980 to present. A few journals, especially older dates, give only selective full-text.

TechStreet
Techstreet is where you can find FLITE's subscriptions to the International Building Codes and to the ASHRAE Standards and Handbooks collection.

Golf / Music Industry / Tennis Management

ABI/INFORM
One of the first electronic databases, ABI/INFORM has been a premier source of business and corporate information for more than 30 years. The database contains content from thousands of journals that help researchers track business conditions, trends, management techniques, corporate strategies, and industry-specific topics worldwide. Coverage for this database begins in 1971.

General OneFile
A very large full-text database with over 50 million articles covering a myriad of subjects, General OneFile indexes both newspapers and journals. Coverage is from 1980 to present. A few journals, especially older dates, give only selective full-text.

Wilson Business
A comprehensive indexing source for business literature, Wilson Business contains citations and very little full text. Use the Find It button to determine availability of articles.

Heavy Equipment

Applied Science and Technology Abstracts
Applied Science and Technology Abstracts provides abstracts for articles from 757 journal titles, and broadly covers science and technology. Full text is available for many of the articles.

DieselNet
DieselNet, the only information service exclusively devoted to engines and emissions, is the internet forum for the exchange of technical and business information on engines, emissions, emission control, and all related issues which, hopefully, will contribute to the development of the clean diesel engine of the future.

General OneFile
A very large full-text database with over 50 million articles covering a myriad of subjects, General OneFile indexes both newspapers and journals. Coverage is from 1980 to present. A few journals, especially older dates, give only selective full-text.

HVACR

Applied Science and Technology Abstracts
Applied Science and Technology Abstracts provides abstracts for articles from 757 journal titles, and broadly covers science and technology. Full text is available for many of the articles.

General OneFile
A very large full-text database with over 50 million articles covering a myriad of subjects, General OneFile indexes both newspapers and journals. Coverage is from 1980 to present. A few journals, especially older dates, give only selective full-text.

Other Technology Programs

Applied Science and Technology Abstracts
Applied Science and Technology Abstracts provides abstracts for articles from 757 journal titles, and broadly covers science and technology. Full text is available for many of the articles.

General OneFile
A very large full-text database with over 50 million articles covering a myriad of subjects, General OneFile indexes both newspapers and journals. Coverage is from 1980 to present. A few journals, especially older dates, give only selective full-text.

Wilson OmniFile
This completely full-text database includes articles from a wide range of subject fields including science, humanities, education and business. Coverage is from 1994 to the present.

Citing Sources / Zotero

Whenever you are quoting or using information from a source, you must credit or cite that source. Failure to do so is plagiarism which can lead to expulsion from the University.

Citation Style Guide: APA (PDF)
An online version of an APA Quick Reference handout which provides the citation style for several basic types of sources, requires Adoboe Acrobat Reader.

Zotero is a citation management resource. You can create an account and format your citations using this tool.

Zotero Homepage

Zotero Tutorials


Contact: Paul Kammerdiner / Email / Phone: 231-591-3037 / Office: FLITE 331

Don't forget, you are welcome to come to the Oval Information Desk and ask for help any time. You can also call us 231-591-3602 or chat with us.

Last update: October 7, 2013