Sonography Research Guide: E-Books

Ultrasound continues to be one of the most important diagnostic tools in medicine and is used by a wide range of healthcare professionals across many applications. This book provides a practical, clinically relevant guide for all practitioners working in the field of abdominal ultrasound. Its aim is to enable the operator to maximize the diagnostic information and recognize the limitations of ultrasound scans.

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ferrisstate/detail.action?docID=1755008 Now in its third edition, Anatomy in Diagnostic Imaging is an unrivalled atlas of anatomy applied to diagnostic imaging. The book covers the entire human body and employs all the imaging modalities used in clinical practice; x-ray, CT, MR, PET, ultrasound and scintigraphy.......

Ultrasound has replaced X-ray as the main imaging modality for the diagnosis of pelvic floor disorders in women. It now enables a cost-effective and non-invasive demonstration of bladder neck and pelvic organ mobility, vaginal, urethral and levator ani function and anatomy, and anorectal anatomy. Atlas of Pelvic Floor Ultrasound provides an introduction to pelvic floor imaging as well as a resource to be used during initial and more advanced practice.

Chest sonography is an established procedure in the stepwise imaging diagnosis of pulmonary and pleural disease. It is the method of choice to distinguish between solid and liquid lesions and allows the investigator to make an unequivocal diagnosis without exposing the patient to costly and stressful procedures. This book presents the state of the art in chest investigation by means of ultrasonography. A number of excellent illustrations and the compact text provide concise and easy-to-assimilate information about the diagnostic procedure. Basic elements such as indications, investigation techniques and image artifacts are detailed in separate chapters.

A refreshing concise book on issues and considerations in current topics on fetal 3D/4D ultrasound. It is written for obstetricians, perinatologists, pediatricians, sonographers, midwives, psychologists, pediatric cardiologists, and advanced students who wish to increase their familiarity with recent advances on fetal 3D/4D ultrasound. Both clinical and research aspects are presented in this book. Many fetal 3D/4D sonographic images and video clips are given. This book features contributions by 7 noted experts in fetal 3D/4D ultrasound from leading medical centers in the world and should prove to be of great benefit to persons interested in this field.

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ferrisstate/detail.action?docID=4717692 Authored by a leading educator, this book teaches the fundamental mathematics and physics concepts associated with medical imaging systems. Going beyond mere description of imaging modalities, this book delves into the mechanisms of image formation and image quality common to all imaging systems: contrast mechanisms, noise, and spatial and temporal resolution, making it an important reference for medical physicists and biomedical engineering students. This is an extensively revised new edition of The Physics of Medical X-Ray Imaging by Bruce Hasegawa (Medical Physics Publishing, 1991), and includes a wide range of modalities such as X-ray CT, MRI and SPECT.

Course-friendly link: https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ferrisstate/detail.action?docID=4880105 Medical Physics covers the applied branch of physics concerned with the application of concepts and methods of physics to diagnostics and therapeutics of human diseases. The first part, Physical and Physiological Aspects of the Body, covers those body systems that have a strong physical component, such as body mechanics, energy household, action potential, signal transmission in neurons, respiratory and circulatory system as well as visual and sound perception. The second part of this volume, Imaging Modalities without Ionizing Radiation, introduces sonography, endoscopy, and magnetic resonance imaging......

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ferrisstate/detail.action?docID=4895045 Medical Physics covers the applied branch of physics concerned with the application of concepts and methods of physics to diagnostics and therapeutics of human diseases. This second volume in a series of two complements the imaging modalities presented in the first volume by those methods, which use ionizing radiation. The first chapters in part A on Radiography provide a solid background on radiation sources, interaction of radiation with matter, and dosimetry for the safe handling of radiation before introducing x-ray radiography, scintigraphy, SPECT and PET. The second part B on Radiotherapy starts from basic information on the life cycle of cells, radiation response of healthy and tumorous cells. In subsequent chapters the main methods of radiation treatment are presented, in particular x-ray radiotherapy, proton and neutron radiation therapy, and brachytherapy. The last part C, Diagnostics and Therapeutics beyond Radiology, covers laser applications, multifunctional nanoparticles and prosthetics......

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ferrisstate/detail.action?docID=4786251 BMA Medical Book Awards 2016 and Obstetrics and Gynaecology - First Prize The British Medical Association honored this book with these prestigious awards. Lavishly illustrated and easy to use, this comprehensive guide covers every aspect of fetal heart examination and all major cardiac malformations.....

The last two decades have witnessed unprecedented developments of new imaging systems making use of 3-D visualization - systems that have revolutionized diagnostic radiology. Now, for the first time, this groundbreaking resource offers exclusive coverage of the latest techniques in both diagnostic and therapeutic 3-D ultrasound imaging instrumentation and techniques. Providing a solid overview of potential applications in clinical practice, engineers and researchers find need-to-know details on major diseases, including vascular diseases, breast cancer, cardiac abnormalities, prostate cancer. Moreover, the book covers state-of-the-art computer-aided diagnosis strategies and presents innovative treatments enabled by advances in ultrasound technology.

As the ideal introductory textbook for medical students, junior doctors, trainee radiologists, and practising clinicians, this new edition of Diagnostic Imaging explains the principles of interpretation of all forms of imaging, offering a balanced account of all the modalities available, explaining each technique and when to use it. Organised by body system and covering all anatomical regions, Armstrong, Wastie and Rockall: explain how to interpret images provide guidelines for interpreting images discuss common diseases and the signs that can be seen using each imaging modality illustrate clinical problems with normal and abnormal images assist diagnosis by covering normal images as well as those for specific disorders show all imaging modalities used in a clinical context The authors cover use of plain film, ultrasound, computed tomography, magnetic resonance imaging, radionuclide imaging and interventional radiology, with high quality illustrations and images. What's new for the 6th edition? Additional new sections and expanded sections, following reviewer feedback Updated throughout to ensure recommendations and illustrations reflect modern ultrasound CT, MRI, and nuclear medicine (including PET) practice Key points and bullet points to aid learning

All healthcare professionals practising ultrasound in a clinical setting should receive accredited training in the principles and practice of ultrasound scanning. This new edition of Diagnostic Ultrasound: Physics and Equipment provides a comprehensive introduction to the physics, technology and safety of ultrasound equipment, with high quality ultrasound images and diagrams throughout. It covers all aspects of the field at a level intended to meet the requirements of UK sonography courses. New to this edition: · Updated descriptions of ultrasound technology, quality assurance and safety. · Additional chapters dedicated to 3D ultrasound, contrast agents and elastography. · New glossary containing definitions of over 500 terms. The editors and contributing authors are all authorities in their areas, with contributions to the scientific and professional development of ultrasound at national and international level.

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ferrisstate/detail.action?docID=5693422 An up-to-date edition of the authoritative text on the physics of medical imaging, written in an accessible format The extensively revised fifth edition of Hendee's Medical Imaging Physics, offers a guide to the principles, technologies, and procedures of medical imaging. Comprehensive in scope, the text contains coverage of all aspects of image formation in modern medical imaging modalities including radiography, fluoroscopy, computed tomography, nuclear imaging, magnetic resonance imaging, and ultrasound. Since the publication of the fourth edition, there have been major advances in the techniques and instrumentation used in the ever-changing field of medical imaging. The fifth edition offers a comprehensive reflection of these advances including digital projection imaging techniques, nuclear imaging technologies, new CT and MR imaging methods, and ultrasound applications.....

A dynamic, all-inclusive overview of the field of health physics If its an important topic in the field of health physics, youll find it in this trusted text . . . in sections on physical principles, atomic and nuclear structure, radioactivity, biological effects of radiation, and instrumentation. This one-of-a-kind guide spans the entire scope of the field and offers a problem-solving approach that will serve you throughout your career. Features: A thorough overview of need-to-know topics, from a review of physical principles to a useful look at the interaction of radiation with matter Chapter-ending practice problems to solidify your grasp of health physics topics and their real-world application Essential background material on quantitative risk assessment for health-threatening radiation dangers Authoritative radiation safety and environmental health coverage that supports the International Commission on Radiological Protections standards for specific populations High-yield appendices to expand your comprehension of chapter material: Values of Some Useful Constants, Table of the Elements, The Reference Person, Specific Absorbed Fraction of Photon Energy, and Total Mass Attenuation Coefficients NEW Essential coverage of non-ionizing radiation-laser and microwaves, computer use in dose calculation, and dose limit recommendations

It has become magic that we take for granted-the ability to look inside the human body, to watch systems function, to diagnose illness, or see one's first baby in utero. Yet the World Health Organization estimates that two-thirds of the world's population do not have access even to basic radiology or ultrasound facilities.

What better way to remember the branches of the facial nerve than the mnemonic Two Zebras Borrowed My Car! This is just one of the many mnemonics included by the author to help you remember facts you may need in your exams and medical career; see inside for the alternative version considered too risqué to print on the cover...A new edition of this fun pocket-sized guide featuring mnemonics and study tips to help you retain those all-important medical facts! an essential read for every medical student Mnemonics and Study Tips for Medical Students will also be invaluable to students of pharmacy, nursing and allied health subjects.

Proper ultrasound examination and interpretation hinges on thorough knowledge of the relevant anatomy, artifacts, and technique. This book provides an excellent foundation by going beyond pathology and concentrating on these fundamentals. Basic physics and artifact recognition and prevention are outlined. Chapters review essential anatomy and include images and tables that highlight relevant bones, ligaments, tendons, muscles, and nerves. Sites of attachment and the best positions for examination are also noted. Technique is presented via a three-tiered approach and photographs of patients in the transducer position are matched with the resulting ultrasound images and complementary anatomical overlays.

This evidence-based book shows how to use ultrasound to identify potential problems and how best to manage them. Working backwards from the fetal finding or maternal problem, this practical resource explores potential diagnostic routes and management plans. Throughout the book, the author uses 'case in point' examples to focus on how to extract the most useful information from a standard ultrasound examination. Dr. Hobbins, who has spent more than three decades using ultrasound in a perinatal setting, also thoroughly explores vital issues such as comprehensive examination of the fetal anatomy, the meaning of various abnormal findings, how ultrasound can be used to enhance the management of obstetrical complications, dealing with discrepant biometry, diabetes and hypertension, advanced maternal age, preterm labor, intrauterine growth restriction (IUGR) and safety of ultrasound.