Medical Laboratory Science Research Guide: E-Books

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ferrisstate/detail.action?docID=5837772 This book provides a comprehensive review of the factors leading to errors in all areas of clinical laboratory testing. This trusted guide addresses interference issues in all laboratory tests, including patient epigenetics, processes of specimen collection, enzymes and biomarkers. Clinicians and laboratory scientists will both benefit from this reference that applies discussions to both accurate specimen analysis and optimal patient care.....

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://link-springer-com.ferris.idm.oclc.org/book/10.1007/978-3-319-95111-9 In recent years, advanced molecular techniques in diagnostic microbiology have been revolutionizing the practice of clinical microbiology in the hospital setting. Molecular diagnostic testing in general and nucleic acid-based amplification methods in particular have been heralded as diagnostic tools for the new millennium. This third edition covers not only the most recent updates and advances, but details newly invented omic techniques, such as next generation sequencing. It is divided into two distinct volumes, with Volume 1 describing the techniques, and Volume 2 addressing their applications in the field. In addition, both volumes focus more so on the clinical relevance of the test results generated by these techniques than previous editions. 

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://link-springer-com.ferris.idm.oclc.org/book/10.1007/978-3-319-33900-9 In recent years, advanced molecular techniques in diagnostic microbiology have been revolutionizing the practice of clinical microbiology in the hospital setting. Molecular diagnostic testing in general and nucleic acid-based amplification methods in particular have been heralded as diagnostic tools for the new millennium. This third edition covers not only the most recent updates and advances, ...

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ferrisstate/detail.action?docID=4819962 The third edition of this popular pocket book, A Beginner's Guide to Blood Cells written by Professor Barbara Bain, provides a concise introduction to normal and abnormal blood cells and blood counts for trainees in haematology....

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ferrisstate/detail.action?docID=1589133 Blood Science is a relatively new discipline which merges biochemistry, hematology, immunology, transfusion science and genetics......

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ferrisstate/detail.action?docID=797559 "About the Diagnostic Standards of Care Series A key issue for every laboratory and individual laboratory practitioner is the assessment of risk and a current working knowledge of the standards of care established for diagnostic testing via guidelines, major studies and trials.

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ferrisstate/detail.action?docID=4648068 For more than 65 years, this best-selling text by Drs. Barbara J. Bain, Imelda Bates, and Mike A. Laffan has been the worldwide standard in laboratory haematology. The 12th Edition of Dacie and Lewis Practical Haematology continues the tradition of excellence with thorough coverage of all of the techniques used in the investigation of patients with blood disorders, including the latest technologies as well as traditional manual methods of measurement....

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://online.statref.com.ferris.idm.oclc.org/Home/Resolve?id=29218&grpalias=MLC Organized alphabetically. Delmar's Guide of Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests adds over 50 new entries to its compilation of over 600 lab and diagnostic tests. The most current information is provided in an easy-to-use format ideal for both students and practitioners of nursing, medicine, and medical technology.

This book focuses on hematopoietic and lymphoid neoplasms that initially present as peripheral blood abnormalities, with either cytopenias or elevated peripheral blood counts, as well as non-neoplastic conditions that may raise concern for a hematologic malignancy.....

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ferrisstate/detail.action?docID=1710068 Over 500 practice problems with answers, showing step-by-step calculations. Guidance for performing math functions on a calculator or computer. Explanations and examples on how to apply essential math skills to enzyme chemistry, hematology, urinalysis, molecular biology, and molecular diagnostics....

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ferrisstate/detail.action?docID=1568768 Following the familiar, easy-to-use at a Glance format, Haematology at a Glance, 4th edition is a broad and accessible introduction to the study of blood. Fully revised and updated to reflect advances in the field and in clinical practice, this new edition covers essential knowledge, from basic hematological physiology to blood disorders and their diagnosis and treatment....

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ferrisstate/detail.action?docID=5253029 With its highly templated, easy-to-use format and new information throughout, the third edition of Hematopathology, a volume in the Foundations in Diagnostic Pathology series, is an essential text for residents and pathologists....

Understand the clinically relevant aspects of microbiology with this student-acclaimed, full-color review --- bolstered by case studies and hundreds of USMLE®-style review questions Since 1954, Jawetz, Melnick & Adelberg's Medical Microbiology has been hailed by students, instructors, and clinicians as the single-best resource for understanding the roles microorganisms play in human health and illness....

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ferrisstate/detail.action?docID=4462527 The Manual of Commercial Methods in Clinical Microbiology 2nd Edition, International Edition reviews in detail the current state of the art in each of the disciplines of clinical microbiology, and reviews the sensitivities, specificities and predictive values, and subsequently the effectiveness, of commercially available methods - both manual and automated.

The perfect review for both MLT and MLS! Practice, practice, and more practice! Use this comprehensive, multimedia resource to gain the theoretical and practical knowledge you need to be prepared for classroom tests and certification and licensure examinations.

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ferrisstate/detail.action?docID=5624890 More than 500 illustrations, tables, and boxes that help students master difficult concepts, including those not routinely illustrated and highlighted in other texts Coverage of transfusion for transplantation. Full-color, step-by-step photographs illustrating ABO forward and reverse blood grouping Discussions of the legal and ethical aspects of providing blood collection and transfusion services Registry-style review questions and answers at the end of each chapter providing immediate feedback for students............

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ferrisstate/detail.action?docID=1867175 The preanalytical phase is an important component of Laboratory medicine and errors arising in this phase affect the validity of laboratory results. In this book physicians and clinical staff have access to valuable information about the current preanalytical variables and factors (patient preparation, sample collection, handling and processing before analysis).

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ferrisstate/detail.action?docID=5511114 This book is the only pocket-sized, quick reference for pathology and transfusion medicine residents and fellows. It covers all topics in transfusion medicine and clinical and laboratory-based coagulation....

Direct link: https://wwwnc.cdc.gov/travel/yellowbook/2020/table-of-contents Also known as Health Information for International Travel, this ebook covers many communicable diseases and other traveler health risks.

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ferrisstate/detail.action?docID=5441160 When a patient is brought into a trauma center in extremis, or becomes that way during a hospital stay, the intervention mantra is airway, breathing and circulation-the ABC's. We provide the nonspecialist physician, and those in the participating and supporting professions, a quick overview of the meaning of the testing terms in this environment......

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://doi-org.ferris.idm.oclc.org/10.1007/978-1-4939-7469-6 This text illustrates bone marrow aspirate, imprint and biopsy specimens showing characteristic features of a wide variety of neoplastic and non-neoplastic conditions....

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://doi-org.ferris.idm.oclc.org/10.1007/978-981-10-8186-6 This book is a practical guidebook in biochemistry, for medical as well as life sciences' students. The book covers reference values, sample collection procedure and detailed protocol to perform experiments.....

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ferrisstate/detail.action?docID=4810876 Authored by the lead author of the bestselling Medical Microbiology and written in the same tradition, Basic Medical Microbiology was designed as a straight-forward, practical introduction to this difficult topic. It provides students with a firm foundation in the principles and applications of microbiology, serving as an effective prep tool for examinations and the transition into clinical application.....

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://doi-org.ferris.idm.oclc.org/10.1007/978-3-319-77694-1 This book discusses in detail various serological tests that are used to identify medical conditions and diseases, from a general overview of each test to the equipment and steps needed to carry them out. The book is aimed specifically at immunology students and professionals who may occasionally need to use these tests, and thus lack training and experience in performing them....

This book was written after feedback suggested that stories and analogies were very helpful to students wanting to remember blood tests and their implications. For this reason each section, where appropriate, contains an analogy, in addition to an overview of the relevant anatomy, physiology and biochemistry. The book links tests and conditions, and gives strategies for clinical practice using simple language.

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ferrisstate/detail.action?docID=1481030 As with other volumes in the Diagnostic Standards of Care series, Clinical Chemistry focuses specifically on understanding potential problems and sources of error in management of the clinical chemistry testing procedures, how to anticipate and avoid such problems, and how to manage them if they occur......

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ferrisstate/detail.action?docID=918261 A quick, concise reference to pathogenic microorganisms and thediseases they cause, this book is divided into specific groups of pathogenic microorganisms, including bacteria, protozoa, fungi,viruses, and prions......

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ferrisstate/detail.action?docID=1649380 "This book is well written, concise, and easy to read and understand. It serves as a very handy and useful resource for busy laboratorians, who routinely encounter the situations detailed therein. It is also helpful for students, who need to learn how to recognize and avoid such situations, by providing expert guidance and examples of ways to keep these types of errors from potentially causing harm to patients."...

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ferrisstate/detail.action?docID=797560 "This book is a quick read and is ideal for busy laboratory managers and supervisors it contains a relatively complete index and additional reading sources for more detailed management discussions....

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ferrisstate/detail.action?docID=4822098 Every clinical laboratory devotes considerable resources to Quality Control. Recently, the advent of concepts such as Analytical Goals, Biological Variation, Six Sigma and Risk Management has generated a renewed interest in the way to perform QC.However, laboratory QC practices remain highly non-standardized and a lot of QC questions are left unanswered....

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=e000xna&AN=1020289&site=ehost-live The 11th edition of the Manual of Clinical Microbiology continues to set the standard for state-of-the-science laboratory practices as the most authoritative reference in the field of clinical microbiology. This new edition presents the numerous microbial taxonomic changes and newer more powerful diagnostic approaches that have been developed since publication of the 10th edition....

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ferrisstate/detail.action?docID=4732256 This book is an accessible guide to mass spectrometry and the development, validation, and implementation of the most common assays seen in clinical labs. It provides readers with practical examples for assay development, and experimental design for validation to meet CLIA requirements, appropriate interference testing, measuring, validation of ion suppression/matrix effects, and quality control.....

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ferrisstate/detail.action?docID=1896080 This outstanding overview sets a new standard for a methods book on pathogen detection. The first chapter provides an outline of currently used routine methods, including their background, strengths and weaknesses, as well as comparing them to newer methods. The following chapters then cover novel methods already in wide use and which are still more experimental for routine purposes. An invaluable resource for all medical laboratories and clinical institutions dealing with infectious diseases.

Course-friendly link: https://parasiteswithoutborders.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/02/PD7thEditionHighResVersion5-11-2019.pdf The accumulation of new knowledge over the last several years has provided the impetus for this, the 7th edition of Parasitic Diseases, the most widely distributed textbook of parasitic diseases in the world. By integrating all the salient information contained in over 1000 new references with the current descriptions of each pathogen, we continue the never-ending process of evaluating, revising, and improving our understanding of these noxious organisms....

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ferrisstate/detail.action?docID=1679927 Covers the essentials of seven major disciplines covered on the MLS and MLT examinations * general lab practice * hematology * immunology/serology * immunohematology * clinical chemistry * body fluids * clinical microbiology * management and education. Quick and efficient way to review for class and certification exams.

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=e000xna&AN=1088911&site=ehost-live Revolutionary research is revealing how the trillions of microbes living on and in our bodies can keep us healthy . . . or make us sick......