Skip to main content
Link to Ferris Homepage

Ferris Library for Information, Technology, and Education

Black History Month: Home

FSU Resources

Media Resources

Cover Art
Eyes on the Prize
Publication Date: 1986
A critically-acclaimed 14-hour documentary on the civil rights movement from 1954 to 1985, Eyes on the Prize presents historical footage and interviews on major events in the civil rights era. The series was created and executive produced by Henry Hampton and his broadcast company, Blackside. Currently only available in VHS format.

Useful Websites

Books in FLITE

Cover Art
The African American national biography -Henry Louis Gates, Jr., Evelyn Brooks-Higginbotham, editors in chief.
ISBN:9780195160192
Publication Date: 2008
Covering the lives of over 4,000 influential African Americans, the encyclopedia includes comprehensive articles from more than 1,700 contributors and suggestions for further reading. Individuals include entertainers, activists, politicians, slaves, authors, and athletes.
 
Cover Art
Encyclopedia of African American history 1619-1895 : from the colonial period to the age of Frederick Douglass - editor in chief, Paul Finkelman
ISBN:0195167775
Publication Date: 2006
A three-volume encyclopedia set covering an important period of history for African Americans containing approximately 1,300 articles. Includes locations, historical figures, one volume dedicated to charts and graphs, 130 primary-source documents, and events with cross references and bibliographical sources.
 
Cover Art
Encyclopedia of African-American culture and history : the Black experience in the Americas - Colin A. Palmer, editor in chief.
ISBN:0028658167
Publication Date: 2005
With nearly 1,300 updated essays, 400 of which are new, the encyclopedia offers a contemporary look at the history of African American culture in the Americas and Caribbean. The wide range of entries include the Blues, Affirmative Action, urban cinema, and Pele, and cross references and bibliographical information conclude each entry.
 
Cover Art
The Greenwood encyclopedia of African American civil rights : from emancipation to the twenty-first century - Charles D. Lowery and John F. Marszalek, editors
ISBN: 031332171X
Publication Date: 2003
The encyclopedia covers figures, events, and works of the civil rights movement from emancipation to the 21st century. Includes a detailed time line ranging from 1859 to 2003 and 120 primary documents of important letters, essays, and poems.

Historical Documents

Cover Art
A documentary history of the negro people in the United States - edited by Herbert Aptheker
Publication Date: 1990-1994
Provides first-hand accounts and testimonies of African American individuals from 1661 to 1945, covering the Civil War, emancipation, and the beginnings of the Civil Rights Movement. Compiled by Herbert Aptheker and introduced by W.E.B. Du Bois, the seven-volume collection is an excellent primary source.

Subject Guide

Chelsea Mitchell
Contact:
(231) 591-3093