Nuclear Medicine Technology Research Guide: E-Books

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ferrisstate/detail.action?docID=1755008 Now in its third edition, Anatomy in Diagnostic Imaging is an unrivalled atlas of anatomy applied to diagnostic imaging. The book covers the entire human body and employs all the imaging modalities used in clinical practice; x-ray, CT, MR, PET, ultrasound and scintigraphy.......

Course-friendly link:
https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ferrisstate/detail.action?docID=1388885 The long-awaited third edition of An Atlas of Clinical Nuclear Medicine has been revised and updated to encapsulate the developments in the field since the previous edition was published nearly two decades ago. Highlights of the Third Edition: Adopts a structured format throughout for quick assimilation Includes expanded coverage of new radiopharmaceuticals, PET/CT, and SPECT/CT Contains new chapters on paediatrics, oncology, and infection imaging Presents a comprehensive set of top-quality nuclear image scans Provides helpful teaching points.............

Course-friendly link:
https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://link.springer.com/book/10.1007/978-3-662-57742-4 This new atlas, the fourth of a successful series, is a completely revised and updated edition of a previously published FDG PET-CT atlas. In the past few years, considerable progress has been made in the field of PET-CT imaging, and this new edition takes full account of these recent developments. Furthermore, its educational mission has been broadened: beyond serving as a straightforward guide to FDG PET-CT imaging it now encompasses the integrative use of contrast-enhanced CT and MRI.....

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ferrisstate/detail.action?docID=4853366 The atlas focuses specifically on single photon emission computed tomography/computed tomography (SPECT/CT) in musculoskeletal imaging, and thus illustrates the inherent advantages of the combination of the metabolic and anatomical components in a single procedure. In addition, the atlas provides information on the usefulness of several sets of specific indications. The publication, which serves more as a training tool than a textbook, will help to further integrate the SPECT and CT experience in clinical practice by presenting a series of typical cases with many different patterns of SPECT/CT seen in bone scintigraphy.

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://link.springer.com/978-3-540-22880-6 The third edition of Combined Scintigraphic and Radiographic Diagnosis of Bone and Joint Diseases has been comprehensively rewritten and rearranged. It now encompasses, in addition to the bone and joint diseases described in the two earlier editions, hitherto unpublished novel applications of pinhole scanning to the diagnosis of a broader spectrum of skeletal disorders than ever before, including those of the soft tissues. A large number of state-of-the-art scans and corroboratory images obtained using CT, MRI and/or sonography are presented side by side. The book has been considerably expanded to discuss five new themes: Normal Variants and Artifacts, Drug-Induced Osteoporosis, Soft-Tissue Tumors and Tumor-like Conditions, PET/CT in Bone and Joint Diseases and A Genetic Consideration of Skeletal Disorders. Topical chapters on rheumatic skeletal disorders, malignant tumors of bone, benign tumors of bone and traumatic diseases have also been thoroughly rewritten and are complemented by the addition of some 90 recently acquired cases.

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=e000xna&AN=1488692&site=ehost-live "Since it was originally published in 2010, CT Anatomy for Radiotherapy has been an invaluable aid to a wide variety of radiotherapy professionals, both qualified and in training. This second edition has many welcome additions and updates, while retaining its original user-friendly format. All essential structures relevant to radiotherapy are described and depicted on 3D images generated from radiotherapy planning systems. System-based labelled CT images, taken in relevant imaging planes and patient positions, build up understanding of relational anatomy and CT interpretation; and all images are accompanied by comprehensive commentary. This simplified approach enables the reader to gain image interpretation skills quickly and easily.".....

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://link.springer.com/book/10.1007/978-3-319-57580-3 Currently an estimated 17 million nuclear medicine procedures are performed each year in the US and constantly evolving, as new radiopharmaceuticals and imaging techniques are introduced for better diagnosis and treatment of human diseases. In keeping up with new developments, the Seventh Edition of Fundamentals of Nuclear Pharmacy chronicles the advancements in radiopharmaceuticals and their use in clinical applications. It discusses basic concepts such as the atom, radioactive decay, instrumentation and production of radionuclides, and explores the design, labeling, characteristics and quality control of radiopharmaceuticals. Radiation regulations and diagnostic and therapeutic applications of radiopharmaceuticals are detailed.    Thoroughly updated, the Seventh Edition includes new topics such as alternative productions of 99Mo; production of 64Cu, 86Y, 89Zr, 177Lu, 223Ra; synthesis and clinical uses of new radiopharmaceuticals such as DaTscan, Xofigo, Amyvid, Neuraceq, Vizamyl, Axumin and 68Ga-DOTATATE; dosimetry of new radiopharmaceuticals; theranostic agents and translational medicine. It features numerous examples, diagrams, and images to further clarify the information and offers end- of-chapter questions to help readers assess their comprehension of the material.  Recognized as a classic text on nuclear chemistry and pharmacy and acclaimed for its concise and easy-to-understand presentation, Fundamentals of Nuclear Pharmacy is an authoritative resource for nuclear medicine physicians, residents, students, and technologists.    

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=e000xna&AN=1473184&site=ehost-live Practical and clinically oriented, the third edition of Clinical Molecular Anatomic Imaging focuses on PET/CT, SPECT/CT, and PET/MR examinations - precisely the information you need to know, without lengthy physics discussions. Ideal for clinical hybrid imaging users, it fully integrates all applications, allowing you to easily compare modalities and decide whether to use PET/CT, PET/MR, or SPECT/CT to solve a clinical dilemma. More than 1,600 high-quality illustrations document the use of integrated imaging and provide superb visual references for interpreting integrated imaging studies.....

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=e000xna&AN=2013143&site=ehost-live Concise, readable, and engaging, MRI: The Basics, 4th Edition, offers an excellent introduction to the physics behind MR imaging. Clinically relevant coverage includes everything from basic principles and key math concepts to more advanced topics, including the latest MR techniques and optimum image creation....

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ferrisstate/detail.action?docID=5024612 Nuclear medicine is a growing specialized medical field in which radiopharmaceuticals, i.e. drugs associated to radioactivity, are used for diagnostic or therapeutic purposes. Since 1942, nuclear medicine has progressed in such a way that it became a major diagnostic tool in hospitals. The past ten years have seen the introduction of major technical breakthroughs which will considerably modify the landscape of cancer treatment. Once injected to the patient, the radiopharmaceutical drug aims at the tumour cell - including metastases - selectively, settles there, and emits radiation. Depending on the radiation type, the drug will either help identify the cells or destroy them. Applications are not limited to oncology; indeed, nuclear medicine has found interesting applications in cardiology and neurology as well. The new millennium saw the introduction of the Hybrid imaging technology PET/CT which combines the Positron Emission Tomography (PET) modality with conventional high quality x-ray imaging. It took another two years until PET could be combined with Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) in the hybrid equipment PET/MR. New tracers (drugs for diagnosis) also came on the market with different diseases as targets, such as prostate cancer, neuroendocrine tumours, or Alzheimer's disease. But the recent introduction of radiotherapeutics in the treatment of cancer has brought major changes on the market, for they can be much more powerful and specific than chemotherapeutics or external radiation therapy......

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ferrisstate/detail.action?docID=3564735 In 194 cases featuring over 550, high-quality images, Nuclear Medicine and PET/CT Cases provides a succinct review of clinically relevant cases covering the full range of nuclear medicine. Cases are grouped into sections including: Nuclear CNS Imaging, Nuclear Inflammation/Infection Imaging, Ventilation/Perfusion Lung Scintigraphy, Pediatric Nuclear Medicine, Cardiac Imaging, Bone Scintigraphy, PET/CT in Oncology, General Oncologic Imaging, Thyroid and Parathyroid, Radionuclide Therapy and Pre-Therapy Evaluation, Liver, Spleen and Biliary Tract, Gastrointestinal Tract, Renal Scintigraphy. Part of the Cases in Radiology series, this book follows the easy-to-use format of question and answer in which the patient history is provided on the first page of the case, and radiologic findings, differential diagnosis, teaching points, next steps in management, and suggestions for furthering reading are revealed on the following page. This casebook is an essential resource for radiology residents and practicing radiologists alike.

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://link.springer.com/book/10.1007/978-3-319-76156-5 This book provides all the information required for the optimal use of nuclear medicine techniques, which are undergoing rapid development yet remain underutilized. Each chapter focuses on one particular clinical system or disease area. The first section of each chapter illustrates normal patterns observed on commonly and uncommonly performed scans as a reference and explains when and how the procedures should be performed. The following section illustrates both the imaging patterns of different diseases and the diagnostic role of individual studies. Comparisons with other modalities are provided, and the rationale for and effective utilization of each study are discussed. The volume includes  near 250 case reviews. In addition, the normal patterns on relevant morphologic modalities are documented in an appendix. The book is directed at Nuclear Medicine physicians and technologists with different levels of training and expertise and also at radiologists who practice nuclear medicine and radiology residents.

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://link-springer-com.ferris.idm.oclc.org/book/10.1007%2F978-3-319-62500-3 This book prepares students and technologists for registry examinations in nuclear medicine technology by providing practice questions and answers with detailed explanations, as well as a mock registry exam.  The questions are designed to test both the basic knowledge required of nuclear medicine technologists and the practical application of that knowledge.  The topics covered closely follow the content specifications and the components of preparedness as published by the certification boards.  This 5th edition includes expanded coverage of positron emission tomography, multimodality imaging, and other new procedures and practices in the field of nuclear medicine and molecular imaging.

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ferrisstate/detail.action?docID=5228957 Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2021! Zero in on a key aspect of radiology with Quality and Safety in Medical Imaging: The Essentials ! Ideal as an efficient learning tool for residents as well as a quick refresher for experienced radiologists, this practical reference covers every essential feature of this important field, putting indispensable information at your fingertips in a compact, high-yield format. You'll be brought up to date on radiation dose and safety, patient satisfaction, monitoring and reporting of complications, quality and safety in breast imaging, evidence-based radiology, quality dashboards, quality and safety in nuclear medicine, and much more.....

Course-friendly link: https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ferrisstate/detail.action?docID=4182925 Radiation Protection in Medical Imaging and Radiation Oncology focuses on the professional, operational, and regulatory aspects of radiation protection. Advances in radiation medicine have resulted in new modalities and procedures, some of which have significant potential to cause serious harm. Examples include radiologic procedures that require very long fluoroscopy times, radiolabeled monoclonal antibodies, and intravascular brachytherapy. This book summarizes evidence supporting changes in consensus recommendations, regulations, and health physics practices associated with these recent advances in radiology, nuclear medicine, and radiation oncology. It supports intelligent and practical methods for protection of personnel, the public, and patients. The book is based on current recommendations by the International Commission on Radiological Protection and is complemented by detailed practical sections and professional discussions by the world's leading medical and health physics professionals. It also includes substantial information on international aspects of radiation protection, with sections covering Africa, Asia and Oceania, the European Union, the Middle East, and North and Latin America.

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ferrisstate/detail.action?docID=5607402 This book presents an up to date ethical framework for radiological protection in medicine. It is consistent with the requirements of the system of radiation protection and with the expectations of medical ethics. It presents an approach rooted in the medical tradition, and alert to contemporary social expectations. It provides readers with a practical framework against which they can assess the safety and acceptability of medical procedures, including patients' concerns. It will be an invaluable reference for radiologists, radiation oncologists, regulators, medical physicists, technologists, other practitioners, as well as academics, researchers and students of radiation protection in medicine....

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ferrisstate/detail.action?docID=4717692 Authored by a leading educator, this book teaches the fundamental mathematics and physics concepts associated with medical imaging systems. Going beyond mere description of imaging modalities, this book delves into the mechanisms of image formation and image quality common to all imaging systems: contrast mechanisms, noise, and spatial and temporal resolution, making it an important reference for medical physicists and biomedical engineering students. This is an extensively revised new edition of The Physics of Medical X-Ray Imaging by Bruce Hasegawa (Medical Physics Publishing, 1991), and includes a wide range of modalities such as X-ray CT, MRI and SPECT.

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ferrisstate/detail.action?docID=5693422 An up-to-date edition of the authoritative text on the physics of medical imaging, written in an accessible format The extensively revised fifth edition of Hendee's Medical Imaging Physics, offers a guide to the principles, technologies, and procedures of medical imaging. Comprehensive in scope, the text contains coverage of all aspects of image formation in modern medical imaging modalities including radiography, fluoroscopy, computed tomography, nuclear imaging, magnetic resonance imaging, and ultrasound. Since the publication of the fourth edition, there have been major advances in the techniques and instrumentation used in the ever-changing field of medical imaging. The fifth edition offers a comprehensive reflection of these advances including digital projection imaging techniques, nuclear imaging technologies, new CT and MR imaging methods, and ultrasound applications.....

Course-friendly link: https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ferrisstate/detail.action?docID=4880105 Medical Physics covers the applied branch of physics concerned with the application of concepts and methods of physics to diagnostics and therapeutics of human diseases. The first part, Physical and Physiological Aspects of the Body, covers those body systems that have a strong physical component, such as body mechanics, energy household, action potential, signal transmission in neurons, respiratory and circulatory system as well as visual and sound perception. The second part of this volume, Imaging Modalities without Ionizing Radiation, introduces sonography, endoscopy, and magnetic resonance imaging......

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ferrisstate/detail.action?docID=4895045 Medical Physics covers the applied branch of physics concerned with the application of concepts and methods of physics to diagnostics and therapeutics of human diseases. This second volume in a series of two complements the imaging modalities presented in the first volume by those methods, which use ionizing radiation. The first chapters in part A on Radiography provide a solid background on radiation sources, interaction of radiation with matter, and dosimetry for the safe handling of radiation before introducing x-ray radiography, scintigraphy, SPECT and PET. The second part B on Radiotherapy starts from basic information on the life cycle of cells, radiation response of healthy and tumorous cells. In subsequent chapters the main methods of radiation treatment are presented, in particular x-ray radiotherapy, proton and neutron radiation therapy, and brachytherapy. The last part C, Diagnostics and Therapeutics beyond Radiology, covers laser applications, multifunctional nanoparticles and prosthetics......

Course-friendly link:
https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=397124&site=ehost-live This book introduces the reader to the field of Nuclear Medicine

Course-friendly link:
https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ferrisstate/detail.action?docID=1811474 In contrast to most anatomic radiographic imaging techniques, nuclear medicine permits real time, non-invasive imaging of human physiology and pathophysiology and also allows for exquisite targeting of disease with therapeutic radiology. To open this window to the processes of human disease,one must first understand the physical processes behind radioactive decay and emission, as well the principles of radiation detection. Practical Nuclear Medicine Physics provides residents and practitioners in nuclear medicine and radiology a readable explanation of the physics concepts underpinningnuclear imaging and how they impact the utilization and interpretation of those images.....

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=e000xna&AN=2013163&site=ehost-live Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2021! Part of the renowned The Basics series, Nuclear Medicine Physics helps build foundational knowledge of how and why things happen in the clinical environment. Ideal for board review and reference, the 8th edition provides a practical summary of this complex field, focusing on essential details as well as real-life examples taken from nuclear medicine practice.....

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ferrisstate/detail.action?docID=1429658 Here is an exciting new guide to the use of PET-CT imaging in radiotherapy. You'll get practical, useful information for utilizing this novel imaging technique-from different methods for contouring biological target volumes in various anatomic regions to how different experts use this imaging in targeted treatment. This thorough text helps you make concise, accurate treatment choices based on current evidence and expert authority. The result is an essential tool for everyone on the radiotherapy treatment team in the era of image-guided radiotherapy. Helps familiarize you with the basics of PET imaging in nuclear medicine. Covers the use of PET-CT with radiotherapy treatment planning, offering practical guidance in how different experts use this relatively new technology. Highlights contrast using full-color images, clearly indicating target volumes and different radiation dosages. Outlines the advantages and disadvantages of different techniques in contouring PET-CT target volumes for radiotherapy. Features case illustrations in using PET-CT in radiotherapy treatment planning for different tumor sites.

Course-friendly link:
https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ferrisstate/detail.action?docID=5638736 Top-selling, concise guide to PET and PET/CT imaging from distinguished radiologists, now in a new edition! PET and PET/CT have been increasingly used as effective imaging modalities in the management of patients with cancer, neurologic disease, musculoskeletal disease, and cardiac disease.......

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ferrisstate/detail.action?docID=4838559 FOUR STARS from Doody's Star Ratings(tm) Internationally renowned authorities in the field of hybrid imaging contribute firsthand expertise on the practical application of single-photon emission computed tomography (SPECT) and SPECT/CT. By combining clear anatomic markers from CT with functional knowledge from SPECT, SPECT/CT provides added value for patient evaluation and is becoming increasingly prevalent in routine clinical practice. Indeed, hybrid imaging is touted by many as a game changer in nuclear medicine....

Course-friendly link: https://ferris.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ferrisstate/detail.action?docID=557572 The atomic bombs dropped on Hiroshima and Nagasaki in August of 1945 unleashed a force as mysterious as it was deadly—radioactivity. In 1946, the United States government created the Atomic Bomb Casualty Commission (ABCC) to serve as a permanent agency in Japan with the official mission of studying the medical effects of radiation on the survivors. The next ten years saw the ABCC's most intensive research on the genetic effects of radiation, and up until 1974 the ABCC scientists published papers on the effects of radiation on aging, life span, fertility, and disease......