Health Information Technology (HIT) & Health Information Management (HIM) Research Guide: Finding Books

Based on extensive experience in the field, this book will introduce readers to the principles and practices of Health Information Management through understanding of Health Information Technology and its application today. Topics covered in the book are based on the core competencies defined by AHIMA as well as HIPAA regulations and JACHO recommendations. To prepare for twenty-first century healthcare occupations, the reader needs to understand the connectivity and applications that make up Health Information Systems of today. The book will provide readers with a thorough understanding of both the terminology of Health Information Technology and the practical use of Information Systems in actual medical facilities. Ample illustrations make it easy to visualize workflow scenarios and technical concepts. Photographs of healthcare providers using various HIT systems and medical devices make it easy to see the practical applicability in a medical office.

This third edition features updated Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) content, new content concerning the Genetic Information Nondiscrimination Act and the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA), and more.

Medical coding will become second nature with Mastering Medical Coding, 4th Edition! Created with students in mind, this text is approachable and packed with real-life practice exercises, and teaches students how to use physician documentation as the basis for complete, accurate coding. You'll strengthen your coding skills with exercises from Godfrey Medical-a simulated medical practice- Stop and Practice exercises, and additional exercises found in the student workbook and Evolve companion website. Visual and tear-out "tools" provide real applications for coding. Teachers benefit with a text that emphasizes actual patient record and documentation and is fully updated to reflect new codes and coding guidelines. In addition to fully updated content, the new edition has new content on anatomy and physiology, expanded discussion of the use of the medical record in coding, streamlined coding tools, and improved examples. Become prepared for a career in medical coding with Mastering Medical Coding, 4th Edition. Emphasis on physician documentation prepares students to locate and determine the actual "diagnosis" and "procedure" from documentation. Coding reference tools, in an improved and streamlined form for the 4th edition, encompass important chapter content. Coding concepts are built upon basic ICD-9-CM and CPT concepts rather than a body system perspective for greater ease and productivity from students. Stop and Practice exercises, simulated medical practices, Chapter Review exercises with practical applications, and additional exercises in the student workbook means students constantly practice and reinforce their understanding of the information. NEW Anatomy/Physiology/Terminology chapter prepares students for proper coding by providing a good understanding of these basic concepts. Smaller sections and improved flow of the text means students understand and master the information more easily. EXPANDED illustrations of sample patient charts with improved explanations of proper code assignment. Fully updated content, including new codes and coding guidelines. New focus on ICD-10 content for those instructors who want to prepare students for ICD-10 implementation. NEW Evolve companion website contains interactive coding exercises and other review exercises for students' practice.

This Book Covers All The Fundamental Concepts Of Health Management Information Systems (HMIS), Provides Relevant And Current HMIS Cases Throughout, And Touches On Emerging Technologies.

Coding Basics: Medical Billing and Reimbursement Fundamentals is part of a series designed to provide you with the foundation to work in today’s medical office. This installment features real-world claim forms and reports for hands-on practice to build the skills you need to acquire an entry-level job in today’s medical office. Billing and reimbursement concepts are presented clearly and concisely, with opportunities for practice throughout.

Covering the latest topics and trends, offering the best competency-based procedures, and providing the most innovative technology, it is easy to see why Delmar’s Comprehensive Medical Assisting: Administrative and Clinical Competencies is the most dynamic learning package for medical assisting. In this edition, learn the most current information and procedures necessary to succeed in the medical office. Use the accompanying interactive software programs to translate this knowledge to simulated, real-world environments, and apply critical thinking skills through electronic health records (EHR) software.

The availability of complete medical information when needed brought the innovation of storing the patient's information electronically. Improvement of patient medical care was and is the catalyst for the electronic health record. Electronic Health Records 2/e provides the conceptual theory and hands-on application students need to work in today's medical office. Hands-on practice uses fully-functional demo version of SpringCharts EHR software, downloadable from the Online Learning Center at no charge, is available for students to use.

ELECTRONIC HEALTH RECORDS: UNDERSTANDING AND USING COMPUTERIZED MEDICAL RECORDS, 2/e is the complete “learn by doing” text for everyone who must use an electronic health records system, including doctors, nurses, medical assistants, physician assistants, and other medical office staff. It provides a thorough understanding of EHR tasks and functional benefits that is continuously reinforced by actual EHR experiences. Updated to reflect the latest EHR rules, regulations, and innovations, this new edition also contains 50% more hands-on guided and critical thinking exercises utilizing real EHR software. Improvements also include a full chapter on electronic orders and results; new workflow examples; shorter chapters that more easily accommodate 12-week courses; and a revised, clarified discussion of E&M billing codes.   Visit this demo link to learn more about this product and how to use it:http://www.pearsonhighered.com/garteedemo/

ESSENTIALS OF ELECTRONIC HEALTH RECORDS, 1/e is a concise learn by doing text for everyone who must use an electronic health records system, including medical assistants, and other medical office staff. It provides a basic understanding of EHR tasks and functional benefits that is continuously reinforced by actual EHR experiences. Reflecting the latest EHR rules, regulations, and innovations, it contains over 40 hands-on guided and critical thinking exercises utilizing actual EHR software. This essentials guide focuses on core tasks, including using search and prompt, lists, forms, coding, and reimbursements. It concludes with a comprehensive student evaluation comprising a written exam and hands-on critical thinking exercises using both EHR software and the Internet.

ESSENTIALS OF HEALTH INFORMATION MANAGEMENT, Second Edition is the ideal book for first-semester students but can also be a useful resource for various health care organizations and medical offices.